Home > About IDA > IDA Leadership

IDA Corporate Leadership

Philip L. Mayor
Philip L. Major
Vice President
Ms. Linda Huntt, Vice President, Management
Linda A. Huntt
Vice President
Mr. C. Dean Graves, Treasurer and Director of Finance
C. Dean Graves
Treasurer and
Director of Finance
Benjamin R. Lindorf
Benjamin R. Lindorf
General Counsel

Research Leadership

Leonard J. Buckley
Director, Science and Technology Division

Joe P. Buhler
Director, Center for Communications Research - La Jolla

Daniel Y. Chiu
Director, Joint Advanced Warfighting Division

Michael L. Dominguez
Director, Strategy, Forces and Resources Division

Mark J. Lewis
Director, Science and Technology Policy Institute

Margaret E. Myers
Director, Information Technology and Systems Division

David J. Nicholls
Director, Cost Analysis and Resources Division

Richard B. Porterfield
Director, Intelligence Analyses Division

David J. Saltman
Director, Center for Communications Research - Princeton

Robert R. Soule
Director, Operational Evaluation Division

Francis Sullivan
Director, Center for Computing Sciences

Steve Warner
Director, System Evaluation Division

IDA Board of Trustees

General Carlton W. Fulford, Jr., USMC (Ret.)

General Carlton W. Fulford, Jr., USMC (Ret.)
Chair, Institute for Defense Analyses
Former Director, Africa Center for Strategic Studies (NDU). Former Deputy Commander, U.S. European Command; Commanding General, Fleet Marine Force Pacific

Admiral Steve Abbot, USN (Ret.)

Admiral Charles S. Abbot, USN (Ret.)
President and Chief Executive Officer, Navy Marine Corps Relief Society. Former Acting Homeland Security Advisor to the President; Deputy Commander in Chief, U.S. European Command

Mr. Edwin Dorn

Mr. Edwin Dorn
Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs University of Texas at Austin. Former Under Secretary of Defense (Personnel & Readiness); Assistant Secretary of Defense (Personnel & Readiness)

Mr. Preston M. Geren, III

Mr. Preston M. Geren, III
President, Sid W. Richardson Foundation. Former U.S. Secretary of the Army; Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives.

Dr. Edward R. Jayne, II

Dr. Edward R. Jayne, II
Partner, Heidrick & Struggles, and Managing Partner, Global Aerospace, Defense, and Aviation Practice, Heidrick & Struggles. Former President, McDonnell Douglas Missile Systems Company and Associate Director for National Security and International Affairs, U.S. Office of Management and Budget.

Dr. Ann R. Karagozian

Dr. Ann R. Karagozian
Professor and Vice Chair, Industrial Relations, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of California at Los Angeles

Dr. Steven E. Koonin

Dr. Steven E. Koonin
Director, New Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University. Former Under Secretary of Energy for Science, Department of Energy; Chief Scientist, BP; Professor, Theoretical Physics, California Institute of Technology.

Ms. Deborah Doyle McWhinney

Ms. Deborah Doyle McWhinney
Former Head, Global Digital Merchant Acquiring, Citigroup. Former President of Citigroup Personal Banking & Wealth Management; President Schwab Institutional. Board member: Fluor, Lloyds Banking Group, IHS Markit and California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Jill Mesirov

Dr. Jill P. Mesirov
Associate Vice Chancellor for Computational Health Sciences; Professor, Department of Medicine, University of California, San Diego.  Former Associate Institute Director, Chief Informatics Officer Director, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Programs The Eli and Edythe L. Broad Institute, MIT & Harvard University. Former Manager of Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, IBM; Director of Research, Thinking Machines Corporation.

Dr. William H. Press

Dr. William H. Press
Professor, Computer Science & Integrative Biology Depts, University of Texas at Austin; Senior Fellow, Los Alamos National Laboratory. Former Deputy Laboratory Director for Science, Technology & Programs, Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Governor Thomas J. Ridge

Governor Thomas J. Ridge
Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security; Governor of Pennsylvania.

Gen Norton Schwartz

Gen. Norton A. Schwartz, USAF (Ret.) President/CEO, Business Executives for National Security
Former Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force.

Admiral Patrick M. Walsh, USN (Ret.)
Former Commander, U.S. Pacific Fleet

Dr. Martha A. Krebs

Dr. Martha A. Krebs - Trustee Emeritus
Director, Consortium for Building Energy Innovation, The Pennsylvania State University.  Former Director, Energy Efficient Buildings Hub. Former Senior Fellow, IDA; Assistant Secretary and Director of Office of Science, Department of Energy.