Home > Careers @ IDA > IDA Awards > 2015 William Y. Smith Award for Excellence

2018 William Y. Smith Award for Excellence

Chris Davis of the Center for Computing Sciences in Bowie as the winner of the 2018 W.Y. Smith Award for Excellence. Named in honor of General William Y. Smith, who led IDA from 1985 to 1990, the award recognizes extraordinary individual or group contributions to IDA from the wide range of staff members (excluding Research Staff Members) who contribute to our success. This year’s award recognizes Chris’ invaluable contributions in support of computing at CCS.

Chris has supported the information technology needs at CCS for the past 17 years. In his nomination statement for Chris, CCS Director Tad White describes Chris’ performance and work ethic over that time as “extraordinary.”

His skills and dedication have been especially visible during the last year, as the IT team mobilized to support the sponsor’s enterprise-wide information security initiative. Chris jumped right in when this initiative began. He regularly stepped out of his comfort zone to work with the ISSO and facilities staff, meeting both the letter and the spirit of requirements. Much of the CCS success in making the deadlines can be attributed to Chris’ deep technical understanding of the CCS networks as well as the stated security goals, enabling CCS to stay “ahead of the curve.”

Chris has become the IT team’s technical “go-to” person; he sees the big picture and always delivers results. He is helpful and approachable, and his professionalism never wavers, whether he is supporting a large SCAMP project or assisting an individual research staff member. The CCS IT manager has said many times that CCS is very lucky to have Chris on its team.

Chris Davis of the Center for Computing Sciences in Bowie.

Chris Davis of the Center for Computing Sciences in Bowie is the recipients of the 2018 William Y. Smith Award for Excellence.

Previous Award Winners

2017 Ted Graves, Information Technology and Systems Division
2016  Mark Cumberland, Daniel Eyassou, Information
Technology Directorate; Jay Giles and Adrian Stewart,
Finance Directorate 
2015 Miranda Seitz-McLeese, Information Technology and Systems Division
John Thompson, Information Technology and Systems Division
Jim Meyer, IT Cyber Security
Ben Lindorf, Corporate
2012 Jackie Powell, Finance Directorate
2011 Mark Cumberland, Information Technology
2010 Domingo Limo, Information Technology
Chris Lonergan, Security Operations
Diane A. Johnson, Information Technology
Mary Abby Jones, Information Technology
Sara D. Kallick, Information Technology
Tracy R. Stieber, Information Technology
2009 John M. Gray, System Evaluation Divisions
2008 Bradley Gernand, Information Technology
2007 Bruce N. Angier, Cost Analysis and Research Division
2006 Paul Dupree, Information Technology
2005 Allan D. Lonergan, Finance Directorate
2004 Timothy Stone, Simulation Center
2003 Caroline Eaton, Human Resources
Patricia Craley, Information Technology
Clark Pidcock, Center for Communications Research, Princeton
2002 Erik M. Rosen, Science and Technology Division
2001 Patricia Chadwick, Computer and Software Engineering Division
2000 James M. Maloney, Information Technology
Jacqueline Z. Powell, Finance Directorate
Rama Srinivasan, Finance Directorate
1999 George J. Anderson, Operational Evaluation Division
Rose Marie Moody, Center for Communications Research, Princeton
1998 Diane H. Thomas, Human Resources
1997 Nancy P. Licato, System Evaluation Division
1996 Thomas A. Smith, Corporate
1995 Arthur House, Science and Technology Division
1994 Sharon Stiles, Human Resources
1993 James Tillema, Information Technology
1992 Pat McCown, Finance
Mark J. Kelley, Center for Communications Research, Princeton
1991 Dean Graves, Finance