Home > Careers @ IDA > IDA Awards

IDA Awards

2018 award winners 

Andrew J. Goodpaster Award for Excellence in Research

Gen. Andrew J. Goodpaster

IDA’s ability to fulfill its mission depends on the dedication and expertise of its entire staff. Each year, IDA recognizes those employees who surpass the normal level of excellence. IDA presents annually the Andrew J. Goodpaster Award for Excellence in Research to an individual who has demonstrated intellectual leadership within the IDA community. The 2017 winner of the Goodpaster Award is Dr. Laura Freeman of the Operational Evaluation Division. 

Larry D. Welch Award for Best External Publication

Gen Larry D. WelchThe Larry D. Welch Award was established in 2011 to honor individuals whose external publications excemplify General Welch's high standards of analytic excellence and relevance. The award recognizes the best external publication related to IDA business areas—or associated academic disciplines that form the building blocks of our expertise—appearing in peer-reviewed journals or other professional publications, including books and monographs. The winners of the 2018 Welch Award are Information Technology and Systems Division (ITSD) researcher Michael Fischerkeller and co-author Richard Harknett.

W.Y. Smith Award for Excellence

Gen. WY Smith, USAF retThe W.Y. Smith Award for Excellence for outstanding contributions by a staff member. Chris Davis of the Center for Computing Sciences in Bowie is this year's winner.

IDA's President's Award for Excellence

The IDA President’s Award for Excellence recognizes sustained superior performance by a non-research staff member over a significant period of time that contributes significantly to IDA’s success. Dolly Watkins, Accounts Payable Specialist in the Finance and Administration Directorate, and Amberlee Mabe-Stanberry, Senior Publications Coordinator in the Strategy, Forces and Resources Division are this year's recipients.




Goodpaster Award Welch Awards Smith Award President's Award

Job Openings