Home > About IDA > IDA Leadership

IDA Corporate Leadership

Philip L. Mayor
Philip L. Major

Vice President

Ms. Linda Huntt, Vice President, Management
Linda A. Huntt
Vice President
Jean C. Conley
Jean C. Conley
Director of Finance/Administration,
CFO & Treasurer
Benjamin R. Lindorf
Benjamin R. Lindorf
General Counsel

Research Leadership

Leonard J. Buckley
Director, Science and Technology Division

Daniel Y. Chiu
Director, Joint Advanced Warfighting Division

Ryan (Skip) L. Garibaldi
Director, Center for Communications Research - La Jolla

John C. Harvey
Director, Strategy, Forces and Resources Division

Mark J. Lewis
Director, Science and Technology Policy Institute

Margaret E. Myers
Director, Information Technology and Systems Division

David J. Nicholls
Director, Cost Analysis and Resources Division

Richard B. Porterfield
Director, Intelligence Analyses Division

David J. Saltman
Director, Center for Communications Research - Princeton

Robert R. Soule
Director, Operational Evaluation Division

Steve Warner
Director, System Evaluation Division

Tad White
Director, Center for Computing Sciences

IDA Board of Trustees

Mr. Preston M. Geren, III

Mr. Preston M. Geren, III
Chair, Institute for Defense Analyses
President, Sid W. Richardson Foundation.
Former U.S. Secretary of the Army; Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives.

Dr. Ann R. Karagozian

Dr. Ann R. Karagozian
Distinguished Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of California at Los Angeles

Dr. Steven E. Koonin

Dr. Steven E. Koonin
Director, New Center for Urban Science and Progress, New York University.
Former Under Secretary of Energy for Science, Department of Energy; Chief Scientist, BP; Professor, Theoretical Physics, California Institute of Technology.

Mr. Richard “Rick” H. Ledgett, Jr.

Mr. Richard H. Ledgett, Jr.
Former Deputy Director of the National Security Agency; former Deputy Director for Analysis & Production, NSA; former Deputy Director for Data Acquisition, NSA.

Ms. Deborah Doyle McWhinney

Ms. Deborah Doyle McWhinney
Former Head, Global Digital Merchant Acquiring, Citigroup. Former President of Citigroup Personal Banking & Wealth Management; President Schwab Institutional. Board member: Fluor, Lloyds Banking Group, IHS Markit and California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Jill Mesirov

Dr. Jill P. Mesirov
Associate Vice Chancellor for Computational Health Sciences; Professor, Department of Medicine, University of California, San Diego.  Former Associate Institute Director, Chief Informatics Officer Director, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Programs The Eli and Edythe L. Broad Institute, MIT & Harvard University. Former Manager of Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, IBM; Director of Research, Thinking Machines Corporation.

Eric Olsen

Admiral Eric T. Olson, USN (Ret.)
Former Commander of the U.S. Special Operations Command
Member, Board of Directors, Under Armour
Adjunct Professor in the School of International and Public Affairs,
Columbia University

 General John Paxton

General John Paxton, USMC (Ret.)
33rd Assistant Commandant of the Marine Corps.

Dr. William H. Press

Dr. William H. Press
Professor, Computer Science & Integrative Biology Depts, University of Texas at Austin; Senior Fellow, Los Alamos National Laboratory. 
Former Deputy Laboratory Director for Science, Technology & Programs, Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Gen Norton Schwartz

Gen. Norton A. Schwartz, USAF (Ret.)
President/CEO, Business Executives for National Security
Former Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force.

 Dr. Ellen Williams

Dr. Ellen D. Williams
Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland - College Park. Former Director Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy (DOE); Chief Scientist, BP.

Admiral Steve Abbot, USN (Ret.)

Admiral Charles S. Abbot, USN (Ret.) - Trustee Emeritus
President and Chief Executive Officer, Navy Marine Corps Relief Society. 
Former Acting Homeland Security Advisor to the President; Deputy Commander in Chief, U.S. European Command

Mr. Edwin Dorn

Mr. Edwin Dorn - Trustee Emeritus
Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs University of Texas at Austin. 
Former Under Secretary of Defense (Personnel & Readiness); Assistant Secretary of Defense (Personnel & Readiness)

General Carlton W. Fulford, Jr., USMC (Ret.)

General Carlton W. Fulford, Jr., USMC (Ret.) - Trustee Emeritus
Former Director, Africa Center for Strategic Studies (NDU). Former Deputy Commander, U.S. European Command; Commanding General, Fleet Marine Force Pacific

Dr. Edward R. Jayne, II

Dr. Edward R. Jayne, II - Trustee Emeritus
Partner, Heidrick & Struggles, and Managing Partner, Global Aerospace, Defense, and Aviation Practice, Heidrick & Struggles. 
Former President, McDonnell Douglas Missile Systems Company and Associate Director for National Security and International Affairs, U.S. Office of Management and Budget.

Governor Thomas J. Ridge

Governor Thomas J. Ridge - Trustee Emeritus
Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Homeland Security; Governor of Pennsylvania.